For all enquiries you are welcome to contact the Department:

Department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic
9 West Road

Telephone: 01223 335079

For queries about applying for our courses please email:


FIND US: We are located on the second floor of the Faculty of English Building.


Departmental Administration

  Academic Year 2023-24
Head of Department: Professor Rosalind Love
Senior Secretary (Academic Support): Mrs Lauren Lalej
Senior Secretary (External Affairs): Mrs Lisa Gold
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Professor Judy Quinn
Director of Graduate Studies: Professor Rory Naismith
MPhil Convenor: Dr Ali Bonner
Degree Committee Office Secretary: Ms Anna Fox
Research Co-ordinator: Professor Máire Ní Mhaonaigh (MT and Professor Rory Naismith (LT & ET)
Department library representative: Dr Ben Guy
Chair of Examiners: Dr Erik Niblaeus
Deputy Chair of Examiners: Dr Ben Guy
Undergraduate Admissions and Schools Liaison: Professor Richard Dance
Outreach Coordinator: Mrs Anne Winship
Graduate Admissions: Professor Rory Naismith
Alumni and Fundraising: Professor Rosalind Love


A list of Senior Members (with Research Profiles), Directors of Studies and Associates is available on the People pages.

If you cannot find the details of the person you wish to contact, you may wish to search the University-wide email and phone directory. Alternatively you may write to them at the Departmental address shown above.