The Cambridge Colloquium in Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic (CCASNC) was held for the first time in 2000. It is organised by the graduate students in the Department. A plenary paper is given by an invited speaker, generally from outside the University, and shorter papers are given by graduate students from Cambridge and elsewhere, on the designated theme.

CCASNaC is an annual colloquium run by a committee elected from the postgraduate community in the department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic at the University of Cambridge. Initially focusing on the literature and history of the early mediaeval British Isles and Scandinavia, CCASNaC has, as it has developed, come to include papers on the all aspects of the early Insular world, including material culture, theology, palaeography, art history and musicology.

The papers given at CCASNaC are published in the proceedings journal, Quaestio Insularis, which also publishes the paper of the colloquium's keynote speaker (usually a renowned scholar in the field). Copies of Quaestio Insularis are available from the department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic.


Marvels and Miracles


This year's call for papers has now closed.



Registration for this year's Cambridge Colloquium in Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic has now opened. The Colloquium will take place on Saturday 5th February 2022, and will feature papers from postgraduate students working on a variety of topics connected to the languages, literature, history and material culture of early medieval Northern Europe. Our keynote speaker is Professor Alison Finlay from Birkbeck College, University of London and further details can be found in the 2022 Programme.

How to Register

This year the conference will be entirely online and entirely free of charge. Rregistration will remain open until 4th February 2022.


2021 Committee Members

  • Presidents - Alisa Valpola-Walker (King's College) and Brigid Ehrmantraut (Wolfson College)
  • Treasurer - Roan Runge (Magdalene College)
  • Catering - Anna Chacko (Wolfson College)
  • Book Stall - Eleanor Smith (Peterhouse)
  • Publicity - Paula Blanco RĂ­os (Newnham College)
  • Secretary - Joseph McCarthy (Peterhouse)


2020 Committee Members:

  • Presidents - Patrick McAlary (St Catherine's College) and Brittany Hanlon (Jesus College)
  • Treasurer - Calum Platts (Christ's College)
  • Catering - Brigid Ehrmantraut (Wolfson College)
  • Book Stall - Eleanor Smith (Peterhouse)
  • Publicity - Kathryn Haley-Halinski (Pembroke College)
  • Secretary - Lee Colwill (Pembroke College)

2019 Committee Members:

  • Presidents - Anouk Nuijten (Lucy Cavendish College) and Sven Rossel (Pembroke College)
  • Treasurer - Calum Platts (Christ's College)
  • Catering - Patrick McAlary (St Catharine's College)
  • Book Stall - Claudia Hossbach (Corpus Christi College)
  • Publicity - Alisa Valpola-Walker (King's College)
  • Secretary - Brittany Hanlon (Jesus College)

2018 Committee Members:

  • President - Tom Grant (King's College)
  • Treasurer - Francesco Colombo (Clare College)
  • Catering - Bathsheba Wells-Dion (St. Catharine's College)
  • Book Stall - Alice Taylor (St. John's College)
  • Publicity - Anouk Nuijten (Lucy Cavendish College)
  • Secretary - Sven Rossel (Pembroke College)

For more information contact the CCASNC Committee at